Click for the latest information from FAR

Arable Research Groups

Current Arable Research Groups (ARGs) are listed below. ARG Chairs who are also Board members are noted as (B). Members of the Research Development and Advisory Committee are noted as (RDAC) and Members Council as (MC).

Become an ARG member

Current vacancies:

Nominations for the Mid Canterbury Arable Research Group (ARG) are now open.

There are three vacancies to fill: one grower and two industry positions.

Please send your bio to by Friday 28 August 2020.

More information about becoming an ARG member.

Northern North Island (NNI)

ARG Chair: Alan Henderson (MC)

ARG members
Andrew Reymer, Chris Paterson, Chris Pellow, Colin Jackson (MC), Colin Mackinnon, David Wordsworth, Grant Dixon, Greg Edmeades, John Austin, Keiran McCahon, Mark Ernest (RDAC), Martin Johnson, Mike Parker (MC), Paul Ambler, Paul Hunter, Regan Studer, Rowland Tsimba.

South Western North Island (SWNI)

ARG Chair: Paul Mackintosh (MC) (B)

ARG members
Alan Taylor, David Dempsey, David McDonald (RDAC), Douglas Giles, Hew Dalrymple (MC), Michael Abbiss, Richard Green, Russell Fleming (MC), Tim Gorton, Tim Harris.

Eastern North Island (ENI)

ARG Chair: Hugh Ritchie (Chairman of Board) (MC)

ARG members
Ed White, Ewan Powdrell, Mark Guscott, Michael Williams (RDAC, MC), Nathan Williams, Patrick Nicolle, Paul Oliver, Richard Dakins, Simon Campbell, Simon White (MC).

Northern South Island (NSI)

ARG Chair: Matthew McEvedy (MC)

ARG members
Andrew Gillanders, Chris Draper, David Birkett (MC, NRC Chair), Dennis Carter, Douglas Gough, Earl Worsfold (RDAC, MC), Jim Macartney, Quentin Withell, Rachael Robinson, Simon Wright, Stu Macaulay, Tony Redmond.

Mid Canterbury (MC)

Board Member: Steven Bierema (MC) (B)

ARG members
Andrew Scott, Anton Nicholls, Brent Austin (MC), Brian Leadley (MC), Colin Maw, Craige Mackenzie, Geert Lepoutre, George Lilley, Graeme Jones, Hamish Marr (RDAC), James Thomas, Randal Hanrahan, Shane Butler, Simon Lochhead, Steve Sim, Tim Brooker.

South Canterbury / North Otago (SCNO)

ARG Chair: Guy Wigley (MC, B)

ARG members
Andrw Darling (Associate Board Member), Chris Dennison, Colin Hurst (MC), David Irving, Grant Duff, Guy Slater, Hamish McFarlane, Hugh Wigley, Michael Porter, Michael Tayler, Peter Mitchell (MC Chair, NRC), Richard Peckitt (RDAC), Richard Porter, Roger Lasham, Ross Rathgen, Rutherford Wilson.

South Otago / Southland (SOS)

ARG Chair: Steve Wilkins RDAC Chair, (MC, B)

ARG members
Andrew Horrell, Barrie Allison, David Henderson, Chris Dillon, Craig Whiteside (MC), Howard Clarke, John Gardyne, Mike Solari, Morgan Horrell, Murray Baird, Peter Clarke, Robbie Clarke (MC), Robert Auld (RDAC), Robert Saunders.